Asian Domain Name Warning… becomes European Domain Name Warning
A little while ago I wrote an article on an email that was being distributed by some Asian Domain Name fraudsters. It invovled the fraudsters preying on unsuspecting victims, and attempted to get money from the victims by convincing them that their ‘brand’ or ‘company name’ was about to be “hijacked” by Asian companies using Asian domain names. That article I wrote and the research we did obviously became very useful for potential victims performing their own research.
The article I refer to is located here: http://tim.safitech.com/2008/07/asian-domain-name-fraud-warning/
The reason for a follow up article is that it would seem that the fraudsters have now moved on to the European (.eu) region! Little is known about the individuals behind these emails, though we do understand it to be a well networked group of people who are in fact from China or geographically close to China. They use real contact numbers (VoIP) and have real people follow with potential victims who respond to the original email. We suspect that the people who follow up the original email are actually innocently involved and are most probably a hired telemarketing firm who believe the cause and reason for the call is genuine. It is possible that the European version of this fraudulent campaign is a ‘copycat’ set up.
So, the latest email to surface is as follows:
Dear ***** Team,
Good day to you
We received a formal application from Netlon Company are applying to register ” *******” as their website and internet brand name in European, American and Asian area on Jun 18th 2009. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Netlon Company has no trade mark nor patent even similar to that word. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,
First of all, whether this alleged Netlon Company is your business partner or distributor in business world.
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains and internet keyword.
(.eu/.asia/.cn/.com.cn/.com etc)
This is a letter for confirmation. If we haven’t receive your reply. We will automatically confirm application from Netlon Company after this audit procedure.Yours Faithfully,
Robin
Registration Commissioner
China Anti-Cybersquatting Organization
‘Tel: +00852 8135 9416
Web: www.mwwgroup.org
Confidentiality Statement:
The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.
It would be helpful to hear other similar stories or other versions of the above email. Any questions or comments you may have are welcomed and encouraged - please take the time to register and post your comment here.

June 21st, 2009 at 12:34 pm
[...] More: Asian Domain Name Warning… becomes European Domain Name Warning … [...]
June 21st, 2009 at 1:38 pm
[...] See the original post here: Asian Domain Name Warning… becomes European Domain Name Warning … [...]
July 14th, 2009 at 9:00 am
I’m looking for some advice. I found your post from last year alerting people to domain registration scams around the world. I received this email over the weekend and even though I googled the company, the email appears to be a scam to me. Can you give me your advice?
Dear *********:
We are Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd, which is the domain name register center in China. I have something need to confirm with you.
We have received an application formally,one company named “Shengteng (China) Investment Co.,Ltd” applies for the domain names(www.*********.com.cn http://www.*********.cn etc.) ,and the Internet keyword(*********) on the internet July 09, 2008. We need to know the opinion of your company because the domain names and keyword may relate to the copyright of brand name on internet.
we would like to get the affirmation of your company,please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Kind Regards,
Hairry Zhu
Tel: +86-21-62416070
Fax: +86-21-62597835
Email: Hairry.zhu@chooke.org.cn
Shanghai Chooke Network Information Technology Co., Ltd
website: http://www.chooke.org.cn
July 14th, 2009 at 2:21 pm
Hi There,
No problems - glad to help. My advice would be simple… just ignore it!
The company/website they use in their contact details are often valid, but that does not change the fact that it is a scam. All you need to do is ignore them, and they will go away. Let me know if you have any further comments or questions.
November 13th, 2009 at 1:34 am
They have moved to OZ
Received the following email:
From: vincent [mailto:vincent@mwwgroup.com.cn]
Sent: Thursday, 12 November 2009 20:50
To: info@mountaintop.net.au
Subject: mountaintop
Dear mountaintop team,
Our organization received a formal application from a company who is called Netlon Co are applying to register ” mountaintop ” as their domain name and Internet keyword in Asia. In order to prevent cyber piracy,Please explain:
1: Whether this company is your IT supplier or distributor
2: Whether you are interested in registering these domains (.eu/.aisa/.cn/.com.cn/.com etc;)
This is only a confirmation, We will handle the next step after this audit procedure.Thanks for cooperation.
Best regards
Vincent
MWW Group, Registration Department of Todaynic.com, Inc ,Hong Kong
Mail Address
11/F, One Kowloon, 5 Wang Yuen Street, Kowloon Bay, Hong Kong
Internet: http://www.todayisp.com
Internet: http://www.mwwgroup.org
Email: vincent@mwwgroup.com.cn
Confidentiality Statement:
The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.
December 17th, 2009 at 7:14 pm
Hi all
This thing has yet another incarnation! Just got it today (dec 16, 09). Here’s the text:
Dear achieve-dreams Team,
Good day to you
We received a formal application from Netlon Co are applying to register ” achieve-dreams ” as their website and internet keyword(brand name) in European, American and Asian area on Dec 16th 2009. During our auditing procedure we find out that the alleged Netlon Co has no trade mark nor patent even similar to that word. Hence we need you confirmation for two things,
First of all, whether this company is your business partner or distributor in business world?
Secondly, whether you are interested in registering these domains and internet keyword?
This is a letter for confirmation. If we haven’t receive your reply. We will automatically confirm application from Netlon Co after this audit procedure.
Yours Faithfully,
Spark
Registration Commissioner
MWW Group Co.,Ltd
?”Tel: +852 8135 9416
Web: http://www.mwwcorp.com.cn
Confidentiality Statement:
The information in this email is confidential and may be legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorized. If you are not an intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution, or other action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful. If you have received this message in error please be advised of your obligation to immediately notify sender of the error in transmission, and to destroy all associated documentation.
Sender is spark@mwwgroup.com.cn, so I suppose it’s the same group. They’ve added more areas to the registration area.
Deleting it from my inbox now.
Sandy
Have a fun holiday season
April 29th, 2010 at 11:11 am
[...] This post was mentioned on Twitter by squareflo.com. squareflo.com said: Just had another client inquire about a email they got from an Asian company regarding their domain name being at risk. http://bit.ly/aJrAKq [...]